Getting Organized

The first thing that struck me about quilting was the amount of waste fabric created.

20130322-131833.jpg

Pieces from the fat quarters that were too small for the project but seem too wasteful to throw away. I never just threw away leftovers and I often spun my sample spinning fibers. I just knew that there had to be other like minded people out there.

Enter the world of Quiltville which is Bonnie Hunters fabulous website. She has written 4 books on scrap quilting and offered numerous free patterns on her website. I am currently working on Blue Ridge Beauty and using thrift store men’s shirts for them.

20130514-104102.jpg

I strip pieced them an now using them as leader/Enders for the rest. I get to have a workshop with Bonnie this weekend and I’m So Excited!!

However I’ve had a slight distraction from quilting.

20130514-110044.jpg

I learned how to modify sewing patterns. Thank you Craftsy. I took the most excellent Plus Size Pattern Fitting & Design taught by Barbara Deckert.

20130514-104739.jpg

I made a paper tape dress-form and made a first attempt at a blouse for the class.

20130514-105025.jpg

Just made of forgiving Kona cotton I don’t love the fit, but do love the color. I’m going to make it over again but this time in grey silk and work hard on the fit.

I also made myself a denim jumper for wearing around the house.

20130514-105527.jpg

Now my brain is focus on making….a bag. But who would not want a bag in happy sushi patterns!!!

20130514-105733.jpg

Leave a Reply

