A New Trail And Baby’s First Dog Shows

My ankle is still messed up. And the result of this I’ve not been weaving or spinning. Add to this an additional flare of carpel tunnel syndrome means I’m looking for things to do that are not my usual hobbies.

20130304-093610.jpg

In steps quilting. Easier on my wrists and plenty challenging to my limited sewing skills.

20130304-093815.jpg

First issue was to get the featherweight set up and determine what other machines laying around here were functional. The old Singer my aunt gave me is dead it needs new nylon gears. One machine is MIA in the garage, somewhere…plus I have 2 Kenmore machines. One the feed dogs do not move, the other needs a serious cleaning and a new belt.
So in the mean time I bought an inexpensive Brother at the encouragement of a friend. I’m really liking the machine. It has niceties that I’m not used to. Drop in bobbin, self threading, embroidery stitches plus it came with both walking foot and a darning foot. The walking foot worked nicely quilting a doll quilt for my little niece.

20130307-205449.jpg

Perfect colors for her. Like her aunt she is into pink.

Now I can focus on the civil war quilt for my Craftsy class. I’ve finished the blocks and now for the pieced sashing.

20130307-210647.jpg

Last weekend I took Little Miss to her first dog show. My goal was to make sure she had a good time.

20130307-210930.jpg

Well she floored me. 3 legs out of 4 runs for her Cyanosport Puppy Rally title.

20130307-211552.jpg

This girl is destined to do great things.

Leave a Reply

