The Window Is Open

To put it bluntly, I’m looking for a new job.  This is not a bad thing, I tried to hang on and be a good employee, whatever that means.  The truth is, I should have left a couple years ago.  But sometimes reality has to hit you like a 2 x 4 before you notice.  And the economy is not exactly great, but better than two years ago, or even 6 months ago.

Luckily, my job is not my career.  My fiber and my dogs are here waiting for me to straighten out my mind.

Then again I had commitments I already paid for.  Like Abby Franquemont’s Andean Backstrap Weaving workshop at The Spinning Loft.

Sunday Morning's Weaving

I didn’t take many photos as I was too busy WEAVING.

Me Actually Weaving

Beth kindly took the above photo for me.  She played her many hats over the weekend, weaver, shop owner, mother, consultant.  I honestly don’t know how she does it.

Real Peruvian Weaving Yarn

We got a chance to wind our own warp.  In many parts of Peru two weavers generally wind the warps such as in this video.  It is a  short section at about 30 seconds into the video.

Since Beth’s shop doesn’t have a dirt floor, Abby brought a board with some dowels we could use.  My warping partner was an experienced weaver so warping went smoothly for both of us.

My First Backstrap Warp

And I walked away with a warp that is now has heddles and is ready to start the pattern I was sent home with.  After a while you get really good at tying heddles, you don’t have much choice if you want to keep weaving and not fighting with the warp.

I have now finished my first band.
First Andean Band-Tanka Ch'Oro

I by no means am ready to move on, but none of my current supply of 8/2 cotton is tightly twisted enough to deal with the abrasion that happens while weaving these.  Luckily I still have two more warps to finish.

The View From My Airline Seat

On the way home, my mind was not on my sock, I was now looking over the patterns again in Nilda’s book discovering I was beginning to read them.  That is a powerful tool.

Spinning Bond

Sad to say, my spinning has lagged.  I’ve been spinning on the same bobbin of Bond for way too long now. I’m almost filled the first one, but I need a lot more if I’m going to be making the Elizabeth Zimmermann Nether Garments.  Of course everything has lagged over the past several months.

Luckily I can put it all behind and forge forward.  Onward!

3 thoughts on “The Window Is Open

  1. Interesting weaving pictures! I myself do card-weaving and at first glance I thought that was what you are doing… but then I realised there are no cards! Now I’m curious… 😛

Leave a Reply

