Texel-Resiliance and Luster At Your Fingertips

The proof is in the pudding, is a common idiom where I grew up.  My intuition told me that despite the information online, I suspected  I found my intuition with Texel was correct.  The truth is in the spinning.

When I look at this lock I don’t think of a long wool, I think of a medium (down) wool.

Texel Lock

When I combed this wool it worked up into a lovely, lofty sliver.

Combed Texel

Spinning it I found that it lofted quite a bit despite the worsted preparation.

Combed Texel

Carding wasn’t as neat, but not unusually so for me.  I have never been able to make those picture perfect rolags that others excel at.

Carded Texel

Spinning it didn’t act all that different than the worsted prep.  The loft that overwhelmed the preparation in the combed fiber was accentuated in the carded.

Carded Texel

I would consider any of these yarns for weaving a blanket both for warp and weft, socks, or for garments that are not next to the skin.  Socks will benefit from the resilience of the fiber, but may be too scratchy for some wearers.

The toughest thing about Texel is finding a purebred fleece.  Most often Texel rams are used on crossbred ewes to produce a lamb for market that excels in muscle to bone ratio.  I would not shy away from a crossbred fleece as the breed tends to dominate the fleece style and structure from what I’ve been able to determine from different fleeces I’ve looked at.  I’m really looking forward to processing the rest that I have here.  Including doing a better job removing the vegetable matter in the fleece.

As I am writing now I find myself in the throes of the Tour De Fleece.  I am also deep in training my two aussies.

This Is A Trained Behavior

This is NOT a relaxed dog.  Roo is in a Controlled Unleashed class.  Roo, while a good and accomplished performance dog is never on down time while at a class or a trial.  If you notice his left rear leg he appears ready to spring up just in case the ice cream truck comes by.  We hope that the class will help him and subsequently help Masi when it’s his turn in the class.  Right now Masi is in a different class learning that other dogs are nothing to be afraid of.

I HAVE been spinning.

Tour De Fleece Day 1

Here I am spinning some merino/yak at a local festival.

Teal Deer

This is what I’ve been spinning at home.

Teal Deer

Abbycrack 🙂  It’s going to be a great tour!

One thought on “Texel-Resiliance and Luster At Your Fingertips

  1. I was interested in the new Spin-Off to notice the Dutch fiberists comment that no one would want to spin Texel. Apparently you and I are exceptions to that statement. Thanks for writing it up. I photographed my samples recently for The Project.

    Love the picture of Roo.

    I get to start training our new rescue Border collie. Looking forward to it!

Leave a Reply

