Some Answers And More About Temples

I need to apologize for not answering some of these questions earlier.

Annette asked about if this was his goose or mine.  Actually it is Roo’s snow goose.  It is from a series of toys licensed by the AKC.  It’s pretty tough, having stood up in tug of war sessions between Mas and Roo.  Speaking of Mas…

Velma asked what the wheel here was. Well it is part of Olga the Oxaback Loom.

It is a ratchet wheel.  What you don’t see is all the metal teeth of the ratchet.  There are actually two of these, one on the back beam that you can see and one on the cloth beam.  The warp  is held tight by a pawl (also spelled pall) on each ratchet.  This is what rigid heddle looms use as well but is  different than the friction brake found on my Baby Wolf loom.  It forces me to stand up and stretch between advancing the warp.

So while we are on the subject of looms I would like to talk about a subject that is near and dear to my heart, weaving temples.

Temples are tools used to keep the fell (line where the last pick of the shuttle was thrown) straight and the edges of the weaving from puckering in.

Here is the Romney blanket on the loom and I’m using one of the Toika metal temples.  These temples have fine teeth on the end that dig into the fabric and will dig into your skin if you are not careful.  But this is how far from the fell line (edge of my weaving) I let it get before moving the temple closer.  I can tell that the right edge of the warp is just starting to pull in slightly.

I’ve now moved it.  See where I place the edge at, not right next to the fell line, but just below.  That way the reed and the temple don’t touch.  That means I move my temple a lot.  After using them for a while you will get a feel how often to move the temple.

This also applies to using the simple temple on narrow widths.  Check out the link and it has some clear pictures of the placement of the clips on the simple temple.  AND those of you out there with rigid heddle looms the simple temple works on those too, just make sure the weight dangles over the sides.

I just realized that all the dogs pictured are Australian Shepherds.  Not a surprise as they have been my “loom dogs” through the years.

2 thoughts on “Some Answers And More About Temples

  1. I use temples all the time… mine are all Glimakra’s. Between temples and end delievery shuttles my selvedges are great.

    I also enjoyed seeing your Oxaback countermarche. I have a Woolhouse Tools CM with floating lamms and enjoy weaving on it very much.

    I will stop by from time to time….

    Susan ( Weever)

Leave a Reply

