Help Has Arrived

Big Runs Lanka Masi

Big Runs Llanka Masi

He is here, the Australian Shepherd puppy formerly known as Oxley. He is now called Big Runs Llanka Masi (pronounced yon-ka mossy), Mas for short. His name means “work sharer” and many many thanks to Abby for translating my ideas to Quechua.

He’s just over 8 weeks old. Currently none of the dogs are telling me to send him back, but that may change. Luke and Adam don’t care for puppies, Daisy loves them as long as they don’t run. Danny and Roo appear to be my main puppy-raisers, good, fair and don’t over correct. I realize now that its been almost nine years since I had a puppy that young. Adam was a good 6 weeks older when he came home.

The boy has the attention span of a gnat. As you can see in the picture, he is struggling to go exploring. On his first full day living with us he got to meet people and dogs at an agility trial. He got to meet his sires owner as well as a couple of my agility instructors and a keeshond. Also I can get about 4-5 clicks in before he is off to find something else to do.

Both parents are titled in agility, obedience and rally. His dam, Sera, is a registered therapy dog and is titled in rally, obedience, and agility. His sire, Ace, is titled in agility, obedience, rally and herding.

I’m surprised he hasn’t discovered that the shelties have tails. But the shelties can take care of themselves and they will let him know that biting Sheltie tails get little Aussie puppies in trouble. If you would like to view the entire set of pictures you can find them here. And here are the pictures of the litter as they were growing up.

Well, it sure looks like we won’t be trialling outside in the heat of summer. He already shows a preference for keeping cool. But then again, what do you expect from a black dog?

And now for my Tour De Fleece update…

I’m working on what I have been working on for the past week.

Spinning my Pumpkin Juice batts from my Enchanted Knoll Happy Hooves Sock Batt Club. I am working toward a three ply unlike I have spun before. From here I will continue with some Spunky Eclectic fiber that has been waiting patiently for me to spin it.

Oh yeah batt love!

Let’s just see if I can spin every day of the Tour…one down, 24 to go…

7 thoughts on “Help Has Arrived

  1. Thank you so much for sharing the photos of Mas. He is just adorable! Seeing him as a puppy (and the shots of the wee pups who look like little guinea pigs) reminds me so clearly of the days when our boy, Cody, was born. He was a Border Collie, and a better companion there never was. Thanks for the memories and best of luck with Mas.

  2. Okay, I’m a serious sucker for Aussies, big or little. And even among Aussies, he’s seriously wonderful. Great name: the full name, and the call name.

    Our Heather was the best puppy-raiser (Aslan’s Mountain Heather). One of our dogs was a foundling puppy that Heather raised for us (Ariel, part Border collie). Tussah, our other dog a rescue who arrived as an adult in the post-Heather era, loves kids but is scared of puppies. Go figure.

    I love hearing about your work with your dogs. Ari’s got arthritis and is out of competition now (she’s 13.5) and Tussah doesn’t have the inclination.

    Nice spinning, too. . . .

  3. Awww, nothing cuter than an Aussie puppy. My Pyr raised my in-laws Aussie to respect other dogs, but also taught her how to play rough, and is a bad example in obedience class (stubborn pyr + rally obedience = lots of hilarity on everyone’s part)

Leave a Reply

